Review: The Boys’ Club

Click here to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★½

I received an ARC of this book for free from the publisher (Harper Books) in exchange for an honest review. 

As a female law student who just took Mergers and Acquisitions this past semester, I was so excited to read this. 

First off, you can totally tell that an attorney wrote this book. There were so many little things that harkened back to things I have been told in law school. There is a lot of talk (especially in the beginning) about what female attorneys should wear. That is so true. At another point, Alex disagrees with something the partner says and internally struggles with whether or not she should say something. That sounds like something straight out of my Professional Responsibility class. Another thing that gets mentioned is that everyone wins a deal if they do their jobs correctly. I’ve heard that many times in law school. One last thing that gets mentioned is knowing what you don’t know. That’s another topic in Professional Responsibility. 

I loved all the legal touches to the book such as the deposition transcripts. The book is also divided up into the 6 parts of a failed merger. I thought that was a clever way to do that. 

This book is also very timely because of the #MeToo aspects. 

I found the book to be incredibly engaging. Once I started reading it, I just wanted to keep going and I didn’t want it to end. I was so fascinated by Alex’s world. 

This book is already optioned to be a Netflix film and I think this book would make a great movie. 

The only thing I didn’t love was that the ending was a bit anti-climactic. Since there was a lot of buildup, I was expecting something huge to happen at the end. However, I did appreciate that the ending was realistic. 

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, especially all the legal aspects. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Review: the mermaid’s voice returns in this one (women are some kind of magic #3)

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★½

I received an e-ARC of this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.  

This book is really similar to the other two books in this series. So if you liked those, then you’ll probably like this one. That being said, I still think her first book is the strongest. 

The subject matter of the book is very timely. A large majority of the poems center on the Me Too movement. 

The theme of this book is mermaids/The Little Mermaid story. However, there wasn’t a lot of actual mermaid inspired poems. She seemed to revert back to princesses/queens and fairy tales in general. Given the focus on Me Too/sexual assault, there could have been a lot done with The Little Mermaid theme. To me it felt like a missed opportunity. 

This collection also contains some guest poems from other poets and I loved that addition. It added some variety and it worked well with the Me Too message because it showed strength in numbers. 

I did enjoy a lot of the poems. There were some that really spoke to me. I did love that one of her poems was an homage to The Chronicles of Narnia, which is one of my favorite book series of all time.  

Overall, this collection is perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace. If you’re looking for something different from her, you may want to skip this one.