Review: When the Bee Stings

Click the picture to purchase the book

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Last year, I read the author’s other book, This Woman is Still Girl, and enjoyed it, so I of course wanted to read her newest collection. It did not disappoint! 

The growth from her other book to this one is so apparent. I liked her other book (I gave it 4 stars), but this one took it to the next level. IT tackles a wide range of topics from heartbreak to mental health. Every poem hits the right note. It’s raw. It’s real. It’s authentic. It’s inspiring. 

So many of the poems resonated with me. Here is a list of my favorites:

  • When I Wear Red Lipstick (pg. 10)
  • All The Stupid Things I Considered After The Breakup (pg. 12)
  • Heartbreak Survival Guide (pg. 18)
  • Walk Away (pg. 33)
  • Hunters (pg. 38)
  • Sunday Service (pg. 40)
  • Faith (pg. 54)
  • Inside Voices (pg. 59)
  • When The Bee Stings (pg. 61)
  • What I Live For (pg. 78)
  • My Own Advice (pg. 83)
  • Coloring Outside The Lines (pg. 87)
  • Hope Will Be The Shelter (pg. 92)
  • Catch Fire (pg. 94)
  • Winter (pg. 105)
  • Thankful (pg. 110)
  • My Honest Poem (pg. 117) 
  • On Her Own Terms (pg. 128)
  • Your Body Is Poetry (pg. 138)
  • No One Tells You (pg. 241)
  • Women’s Evolution (pg. 151)

Overall, this was a stunning collection of poetry that comes from the heart! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Review: Curing My Venom

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This was a very emotional collection of poetry that centers on the 5 stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. 

After reading the first two sections (denial and anger) I was a bit unsure whether I was going to like the collection. I didn’t connect to many of the poems in those sections. But I ended up loving the last three sections. The last one, acceptance, was my favorite. I had so many favorites from that section. 

One thing that was unique about this collection was the paired poems. I’m not quite sure what to call them but after some poems there would be a, “go to page __” and that poem would be a sort of response to the original one. Sometimes, there would even be another page direction on the response poem. I haven’t encountered that before and thought it was a clever touch. It made the book very cohesive and managed to tie all the sections together in a subtle way.

There were also illustrations throughout the collection and I loved them. They complemented the themes of the poems well.

Overall, this is a wonderful collection. I recommend it for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur. 

Review: Poetical Veering

Rating: ★★★

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This was an interesting collection of poetry. I liked aspects of it, but as a whole it fell a bit flat to me.

First off, the collection is divided into 4 chapters based on type of poem (Haikus, Tankas, Lune, and Senryu). It would have been more effective if they were broken into chapters thematically rather than by style. It have helped the collection be more cohesive. 

IMG_1926

As for the poems themselves, they weren’t my cup of tea. I understand the vibe the author was going for, but it just didn’t resonate with me. A lot of the poems felt disjointed like I didn’t quite get what they were trying to convey. However, I did like the ones I did understand. 

For example, this is one of the haikus I liked:

The unity of us

Our humanity

Seeks and identifies that 

We need each other

Lastly, since the collection is organized by style, the poems got repetitive. The haiku chapter was the longest and it got a bit boring reading haiku after haiku. It would have been better if there was more variety in terms of style. 

Overall, this was an intriguing collection, but it just didn’t click with me. 

Review: Uncaged Wallflower

32588195

Click the picture to buy the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received this book for free through a complimentary Pressed Poet box. Pressed Poet is a poetry subscription box.

This collection of poems was so on point. I related to so many of the poems especially since many of them spoke to how my life currently is. I’m at this transition point in my life and a lot of these poems have definitely helped me with my outlook on life. They inspired me to be more bold and to step out of my comfort zone.

IMG_1854

Some of my favorite poems were, “No More Tomorrow,” “The Best,” “Change,” “Comfort Zone,” and “Change is Inevitable.”

I loved the way the poems were written. They are written in that Instagram poet style that some people love and some people hate (I happen to love it). They kind of reminded me of the poems I write (which aren’t nearly as good as Jennae’s) so they felt very familiar.

Overall, this is an inspiring collection of contemporary poems.