Review: Love Looks Pretty On You

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I’m such a huge fan of Lang Leav so when I saw this book, I just had to buy it! 

I always love how organized Lang’s collections are. She knows how to come up with with an overarching theme and how to follow it. She never tries too hard to make her poems fit into the theme. That is very true with this collection. It was effortless the way the poems came together to convey her message. 

However, for some reason, there was something missing from this collection. I can’t quite place it, but it was lacking something. It could be because some of the pieces didn’t have titles so it felt slightly incomplete. 

That being said, I still enjoyed it and had a ton of favorites. Some of them were:

  • Someone else (pg. 17)
  • Vultures (pg. 29) 
  • Regrets (pg. 35)
  • Idols (pg. 45) 
  • Your Right to Love (pg. 47)
  • Too Young (pg. 61)
  • I Had You (pg. 71)
  • The Friendship Bond (pg. 75)
  • Flowers (pg. 93)
  • Saltwater (pg. 107)
  • Shut Out (pg. 113)
  • Anxiety (pg. 153)
  • Obsession (pg. 155)
  • Sunday Afternoon (pg. 177)
  • Something Else (pg. 181)
  • Write for Yourself (pg. 193)
  • Springtime (pg. 205)

Overall, this was a wonderful collection of poetry! 

Advertisements

May 2019 wrap-up

Hello beauties! Look at me doing another monthly wrap up. I didn’t think I would actually do these every month but here I am.

So May wasn’t a great reading month for me. The first week and a half was my finals week so I had to study like crazy. Then I went on a week long trip to Hawaii and unlike most people, I never have time to read on vacation.

I ended up reading 4 books (2 of which are super short poetry books). Here’s what I read:

Overall, I liked what I read. I just wish I had read more. The good news is that I started reading 3 books this week, so I know June will be a way better reading month.

How was your reading month? Tell me in the comments!

xoxo,

Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Review: On the Occassion of a Wedding

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

First off, I loved that this book was written for a wedding gift to a couple. The dedication says, “To Kristi and Matthew – who are receiving this book as a wedding gift instead of something more practical off their registry.” 

The collection was divided into 4 sections and my favorite was Amor Insanus. That section had all the best poems. They were funny and sexual but still managed to be beautiful and not crude. My favorites from that section were, “A Boring Dream of Our Life in Fine Detail” (pg. 56), “The Unfortunate Subliminal Typo” (pg. 60), “From Your Nakedness, A Poem” (pg. 61), “Manaconda” (pg. 64), “Conjugation, In Latin” (pg. 67), “Subject: Cake No. 50” (pg. 75), “Angel of Light (pg. 78), and “Freudian Slips Of(f) the Thong” (pg. 79). 

The rest of the sections were very romantic, dreamy, and ethereal. Some of my favorites from the remaining sections were, “Quanta Qualia” (pg. 15), “Tears of the Poet” (pg. 23) and “To My Husband Upon Vicennial Introspection” (pg. 103).

The only negative is that there were some poems that I didn’t quite “get”. Some of them were a bit too metaphorical and I wasn’t able to really decipher the meaning. 

Aside from that, I really enjoyed this collection and recommend it to those who enjoy romantic poetry! 

Review: Curing My Venom

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This was a very emotional collection of poetry that centers on the 5 stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. 

After reading the first two sections (denial and anger) I was a bit unsure whether I was going to like the collection. I didn’t connect to many of the poems in those sections. But I ended up loving the last three sections. The last one, acceptance, was my favorite. I had so many favorites from that section. 

One thing that was unique about this collection was the paired poems. I’m not quite sure what to call them but after some poems there would be a, “go to page __” and that poem would be a sort of response to the original one. Sometimes, there would even be another page direction on the response poem. I haven’t encountered that before and thought it was a clever touch. It made the book very cohesive and managed to tie all the sections together in a subtle way.

There were also illustrations throughout the collection and I loved them. They complemented the themes of the poems well.

Overall, this is a wonderful collection. I recommend it for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur. 

Review: When I Walk Through That Door, I Am

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received this book for free through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers in exchange for an honest review.

This was a very powerful narrative poem that deals with immigration into the U.S. from South America.

I love narrative poems. I think they are such a creative way to tell a story and it worked well for this particular story and message The author really put you into the main character’s head and you got to know her thoughts and feelings in an intimate way. There are just some things you can do in poetry that you can’t necessarily do with prose, so this was a successful way of telling this story. 

I do have a few minor critiques of the book. One being that it felt a tad bit over the top and dramatic which made parts of it unbelievable. The second critique is that I wanted more. I was super into the story and then it just kind of ended. Certain parts could have been fleshed out more to give it even more depth.

Lastly, I loved the author’s note at the end where he talks about his experience with a Burmese refugee. It was a very touching story. I kind of wish that he had written the book about him instead of creating a something new. There was something very special about their friendship. 

Overall, this is an important and beautifully written read that highlights the difficulties that many South American immigrants face when trying to come into the U.S. 

I’m an Amazon Influencer!

Photo credit: Content + Co.

Hi beauties! I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while, but (as usual) life got in the way. I’m happy to announce that I have been accepted into Amazon’s Influencer Program. Basically, this means I earn a small commission if you purchase a product on my page.

On my page, you’ll find curated lists by me of book recommendations organized by genre like historical fiction and poetry. I also have more fun categories like Disney books and superhero novels. I’ll be adding more books soon, so be sure to keep checking it. I’m also thinking about making a list of bookish merch.

Click here to check out my page.

Thanks for reading this short post and let me know if you read any of my recs!

xoxo,

Review: Love and Other Things

Click on the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

This is a really sweet and touching collection of poetry. 

The poems really resonated with me and I found them to be authentic and very “real”. The poems never felt like they were trying too hard to convey a particular message. They also didn’t feel like imitations of other poems or poets. They seemed to come straight from the author’s heart in a beautiful and effortless way. 

Some of my favorites were, “Rosie,” I did it for the boys,” “L-O-V-E,” “Dear Sophia,” and “My girl.” My favorite poems centered on the theme of motherhood. Prior to reading this book, I hadn’t read any poems that dealt with that particular topic so it was wonderful to read about the love between mother and daughter. That was really special.  

My only critique is that I wish the collection was longer. I really enjoyed the poems so I wanted a bit more. The author has the potential to expand this collection more and make it even more powerful. 

Overall, I really recommend this short and sweet poetry collection.