Review: Almond

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (HarperVia).

This book is why I love international books. They’re always so different from what is traditionally published here in America and I find that so refreshing. 

In the prologue it states that, “I won’t tell you whether it has a happy ending or a tragic ending…neither you nor I nor anyone can ever really know whether a story is happy or tragic.” I think that perfectly sums up the book. It is sad at times, but there is still hope and happiness. The book toes the the line between both very well and highlights the complexities of life. 

This is a very fast book to read since the chapters are so short. I personally loved the short chapters because it kept the book moving at a good pace. 

I loved the juxtaposition between the two main characters. Their dynamic was so fascinating. A boy that feels nothing meets a boy who feels too much. 

Lastly, there are some lovely descriptions about books in this novel. At one point the main character states, “I felt connected to the smell of old books. The first time I smelled them, it was as if I’d encountered something I already knew” (pg 43). At another point he states, “But books are quiet. They remain dead silent until somebody flips open a page. Only then do they spill out their stories, calmly and thoroughly, just enough at a time for me to handle” (pg 127). 

Overall, I found this novel to be beautiful and thought provoking! If you’re looking to try something new and a bit different, pick up this book! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment