Review: Powers of a Girl

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a fun guide featuring the ladies of the Marvel Universe! 

I am a huge Marvel fan so I knew I had to read this book. My all time favorite superhero is Squirrel Girl and she is included in this book. 

Each hero gets about 4 pages dedicated to her; complete with a biography and fun facts. I loved that everyone got an equal amount of attention. This book is aimed at a young adult/middle grade audience, so at times the writing and messages can feel slightly juvenile. It’s also more a primer so it’s not going to go in depth into every little detail about these ladies.

Additionally, I enjoyed the selection of women featured. There was a good balance of well known characters (e.g. Black Widow, Captain Marvel, Scarlet Witch) and lesser known ones (e.g. Silk, Moon Girl, Hellcat). 

The best part of the book was the artwork. The artwork is absolutely stunning. The artist did a phenomenal job with each portrait. It was refreshing seeing them redrawn in a different style. Every woman looked fierce! 

Overall, I enjoyed learning about all these heroic ladies! I recommend this book for fans of Marvel’s female superheroes or to anyone who wants to learn more about them. It also would make a great gift. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment