Review: Chasing Pacquiao

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free for promotional purposes. 

What a powerful debut novel! 

First off, I am Filipino American so I’m always extra excited to read any book with Filipino rep. This one did not disappoint. 

I love that this book explores all of the main character’s identities. Bobby is not only Filipino American, but also gay and lower income. He’s also a huge comic book nerd. All of his identities intersect in a real and authentic way. 

There was a good balance between the lighter moments and the heavy ones. This book does feature quite a bit of violence (both in boxing and non-boxing contexts) and homophobia, so the lighter moments are much needed. 

Additionally, I did like that the antagonists (the bullies) of the story were also Filipino American. The book highlights the positives of Filipino culture, but also shows how homophobia can still exist within it (the Philippines is still a very Catholic country). I’m glad that the author did not shy away from that.

Finally, the way the book handled Bobby’s reaction to Manny Pacquiao’s statements was also well done. It felt very realistic and showed that sometimes our idols are not all that great. 

Overall, I really enjoyed this novel! I recommend it if you’re looking for a YA book with Filipino or LGBTQ representation. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment