Review: Dressing the Part

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Harper Books) for promotional purposes. 

This was a very fun inside look into the world of TV fashion! 

The book showcases a wide range of television shows, spanning all decades and genres. It is divided into different chapters based on style (ex. period shows, working women, and glamour to name a few). This organizational method worked so well (way better than it would be if it were chronological). I thought the selection of shows was very spot on and I liked that a few reality shows were also included. I even discovered some shows that I never heard of (like Moonlighting starring Bruce Willis and Cybill Shepherd).

The writing style is very entertaining with a lot of clever references weaved throughout. There were also interviews with some of the costume designers. However, I felt that the book could have gone into the fashion a bit more. A lot of it was just background and recapping the show. I wanted more information on the clothes themselves. 

The photos in the book are really large and colorful, making this a great book to display on your coffee table. (Although I would have liked captions describing the clothes in the photos)

Overall, this is a stunning book! I recommend it for fashion and TV lovers. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok


Leave a comment