Review: Disappointing Affirmations

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Chronicle Books) for promotional purposes. 

What a gem of a book!

I am personally not a fan of positive affirmations. They’re just not my thing and I find them overly optimistic. Disappointing affirmations are more up my alley so I ended up loving this book. 

The book starts with a short intro that gives some background into how the book came about. Knowing how/why the book was written made me appreciate it even more. 

The affirmations were all so hilarious and spot on. Some of my favorites were:

  • “It’s not imposter syndrome. You really do suck at everything.” 
  • “Stop overthinking. You are the only one who cares.” 
  • “Take a moment to be grateful for all that you have. Okay, now back to wishing everything was different.”
  • “My entire vibe is I don’t want to.”

The background photos are also gorgeous and were taken by the author. I loved the juxtaposition of the serene pictures with the disappointing affirmations. 

This book would make a great gift, but do keep in mind there is some foul language. 

Lastly, the book jacket turns into a poster that says, “Have a panic attack. You’ve earned it.” I thought that was a fun and creative touch. 

Overall, this was an entertaining and relatable read! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok


Leave a comment