Review: The Indomitable Florence Finch

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free for promotional purposes. 

What an incredible story!

I previously read Angels of the Pacific, which is a historical fiction novel set in World War II Philippines, and was so fascinated by it. That book (plus the fact that I’m half Filipino and had grandparents who lived through this) made me want to learn more about WWII Philippines, so I just had to read this nonfiction account. 

It is so evident how well researched this book was. The book features one of the most comprehensive bibliographies I’ve ever seen (it even includes unpublished works). Not only does the book follow Florence Finch, but it also touches upon other prominent figures such as General Douglas MacArthur, Carl Engelhart, and Kiyoshi Osawa, which added context and an overview of the world Florence was living in. 

Florence was such a remarkable woman. I’m in awe of all things she did and how she persevered through so much pain and suffering. I’m so glad her story has finally been told. 

As a warning, the second half of the book is a bit brutal to read. It does not hold back when describing the harsh conditions of the Japanese occupation, including descriptions of torture. 

Overall, I highly recommend this book if you’re looking to learn more about this amazing woman or WWII Philippines.


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment