Review: Swamp Thing

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (DC Comics) for promotional purposes. 

I’m a big fan of DC’s graphic novels for young adults line and this novel was a great addition to the lineup. I’m not really familiar with Swamp Thing, so I didn’t have any particular expectations going into it. 

As for the storyline, there really isn’t much of a plot. It’s more of a character study that serves as an origin story for Swamp Thing. If you’re looking for an exciting superhero read, this book isn’t it. The majority of the novel focuses on the twins and their relationship. There is a lot of exploration of their feelings and emotions towards themselves and each another, which I enjoyed. 

However, the ending did feel rushed and abrupt. It ended suddenly and with little closure. I would have liked to seen it fleshed out more. 

The best part of the book was definitely the illustrations. The artwork is stunning, especially the drawings involving plants. There’s an ethereal, almost horror-like quality to some of the depictions. 

Overall, I recommend this graphic novel for those looking to read a different kind of superhero comic. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment