Review: Days at the Morisaki Bookshop

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Harper Perennial) for promotional purposes. 

At just under 150 pages, this book was short but still so powerful!

The book is separated into 2 parts. The first part focuses on the main character, Takako, and her life working at the bookshop, which I found very charming and cute. If you’re a bookworm and a bibliophile, this part will definitely resonate with you! The second part focuses on the Takako’s relationships with others. This part was more emotional. I enjoyed both parts because they each offered something different. 

Some may find the simplicity of the story hard to connect with, but it worked for me. There was something really beautiful and understated about it. This is a translated Japanese story, so it can feel quite different from an American novel. 

I also loved learning about Jimbocho, Japan’s book district (where the story takes place). I never knew this place existed but it sounds amazing. 

Since this is a book about books, I have to share a quote I loved about the magic of secondhand books. Takako ponders,

“I happened to find a pressed flower someone had left as a bookmark. As I inhaled the scent of the long-ago-faded flower, I wondered about the person who had put it there. Who in the world was she? When did she live? What was she feeling? It’s only in secondhand books that you can savor encounters like this, connections that transcend time.”

pg. 37

I couldn’t agree more! 

Overall, this was a gem of a book! If you’re looking for something quick and a little different to read, consider picking this one up. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment