Review: Herbana Witch

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Red Wheel Books) for promotional purposes.

I had previously read the author’s other witchy nonfiction book, Backyard Witchcraft, and enjoyed it, so I was excited to read this one. I was not disappointed.

This book centers on the Herbana Witch, which is a type of witch who is connected to nature. The book is divided up into the 4 seasons and provides witchy information on plants, animals, and activities to do during each season. It was highly informative and I learned a lot of new things, especially regarding the properties of certain plants. I particularly liked the Herbana Witch’s Message at the end of each section. They were all spot on.

I love the author’s writing style. There is something almost lyrical about it. It’s smooth and calming, which you often don’t encounter in nonfiction. Nonfiction can sometimes feel sterile and detached. At one part, the author talks about how the Herbana Witch lives on the edge and she wrote a beautiful quote. She writes,

“The edge is thus a space that stands in opposition to the tenets of the majority, to what is ordinary; it is at times a difficult space, but if it is experienced as a space of resistance and revolution, it is a space that is rich in potential, freedom, and possibility.”

pg. 15

This quote really stuck with me and I kept coming back to it to reread. 

The illustrations were also gorgeous. It captured the witchy nature aesthetic and translated what the author was discussing perfectly. For example, in discussing elderberry, the author mentions Saturn. The picture for elderberry incorporated Saturn in the illustration. I loved that cleverness! 

The last few pages are lined for any notes the reader may wish to add, which I thought was a nice touch.

Overall, this is a stunning witchy reference book that will have you thinking deeper about the seasons. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment