Review: House of El (House of El #1)

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (DC Comics) for promotional purposes.

Going into this book, I didn’t know what to expect. I didn’t know much about Krypton, other than the fact it is Superman’s birthplace. But once I started reading it, I was very intrigued! 

I’ve read many of DC’s graphic novels for young adults, and this one leans more on the action packed side (some other titles in the line are more slower paced and introspective). This book is full of adventure and there is never a dull moment.

I found the setting of Krypton to be so interesting. It was a utopia where things weren’t actually perfect. 

I also liked the two main characters, Sera and Zahn. They are from 2 different castes (Sera is a solider and Zahn is an elite future leader), but team up due to their doubts about Krypton. They were both so well developed and had an equal amount of storyline. 

The artwork worked very well for the story. The colors were vivid and really brought the word to life. The action scenes were also nicely drawn. 

Since this is the first book in a trilogy, it does end in a cliffhanger that makes you want to read the next one ASAP. 

Overall, if you’re looking for an exciting and action filled graphic novel, read this one! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment