Review: Magnolia Parks (Magnolia Parks Universe #1)

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Dutton) for promotional purposes. 

Going into this book, I didn’t quite know what to expect, but I was absolutely blown away. 

This book was like Gossip Girl meets Sally Rooney. Parts of it were light hearted rich people drama, but when it came to Magnolia and BJ’s relationship, there was a lot of intense emotional depth. Magnolia and BJ have a toxic and codependent relationship that was just so fascinating and addicting to read. Their relationship and feelings towards each other reminded me of Sally Rooney’s work (which I love). 

The book is over 400 pages, but there was never a dull moment. There are quite a few twists and turns in the story (including the ending) that kept me flipping through the pages like crazy. The pacing was spot on and I never felt like the story dragged on for too long. 

As for the supporting characters, I loved Magnolia’s sister, Bridget, and her grandma, Bushka. Bridget was the rational little sister and Bushka was hilarious. I’m also intrigued to learn more about Magnolia’s friends in the coming books. I feel like this book only scratched their surface (especially the Hemmes brothers). 

Overall, I loved this book and cannot wait to continue the series. Onto Daisy Haites! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

One thought on “Review: Magnolia Parks (Magnolia Parks Universe #1)

Leave a comment