Review: Amethyst, Princess of Gemworld

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (DC Comics) for promotional purposes.

What an adorable graphic novel for kids!

I’ve read many books in DC’s Graphic Novels for Young Adults line, but this was my first one from their Kids line. I thought this was just as good as the YA ones. 

Going into the story, I didn’t have any particular expectations because I am not familiar with Amethyst and Gemworld. But after reading this, I’m thinking I should start looking into her and Gemworld because she’s pretty cool and Gemworld sounds like an amazing place.

I loved the characters. Amaya (Amethyst) was well developed. She was so sassy and mischievous at the beginning, but matured throughout the story. Her friends Autumn and Topaz were also memorable. 

The artwork and style were so cute. It worked perfectly for a younger audience. The colors used to represent the different worlds and characters were stunning. In particular, the pastel purple used for House Amethyst was so pretty.

The only thing I didn’t love was how rushed the ending was. All of the problems were solved so fast. I would have liked to seen the ending stretched out more.

Overall, this was an enjoyable graphic novel that kids (and some adults) are sure to love! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok

Leave a comment