Review: Dear Dolly

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★

I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher (Harper Perennial) for promotional purposes. 

I previously read Dolly’s memoir, “Everything I Know About Love,” and loved it, so naturally I also enjoyed this one. 

This book is a collection of selected responses from her Dear Dolly column. I’ve never read her column, so all of these were new to me. The responses are divided into 7 sections: Dating, Friendship, Relationships, Family, Sex, Break-ups & Exes, and Body & Soul. I liked that they were organized in this way; it gave the book structure. 

Like her memoir, Dolly’s responses to her readers are very conversational. Reading them feels like talking to an old friend. Her advice is very practical and real, but she’s never judgmental. She seems to really understand what her readers are asking and gives relatable advice. She also knows how to incorporate pop culture references (like when she mentions listening to a Lana Del Rey album) without seeming like she’s trying too hard. 

This is a great book to pick up if you’re looking for some life advice, especially when it comes to dating or love. As someone still looking for love, I found quite a bit of her advice helpful.

Overall, if you’re a fan of Dolly’s work, you should definitely give this book a read! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok


One thought on “Review: Dear Dolly

Leave a comment