Review: The Five Stages of Courting Dalisay Ramos

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received an ARC of this book for free from the author for promotional purposes. 

I’ve been a reader and fan of Melissa de la Cruz since middle school. Her books are always so fun and engaging, and this one was no exception. 

First off, there’s so much Filipino representation in this book. I loved it. The book captures so much of Filipino culture and family life. As a Filipino American, I found it very relatable (especially in regards to how stubborn Filipino mothers can be). I’m so happy Melissa de la Cruz has started incorporating more of her Filipino heritage into her books. Representation does matter! 

The story was well done. The Filipino stages of courtship was an entertaining premise. I liked how the story came full circle (sorry if this is vague, I’m trying to remain spoiler free). It was so cute and just made for an adorable love story. 

Since this is a romance, there’s naturally some sex/sexy scenes. I loved how sex was handled. The main character, Dalisay, is a virgin, but everything was so sex positive. 

Lastly, the characters were all so lovable. I particularly loved Dalisay’s lola (grandmother). I also had no complaints with the love interest, Evan. 

Overall, this was such a joy to read! If you’re looking for a feel-good contemporary romance, check this one out. 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok


Leave a comment