Review: The Encanto’s Daughter (The Encanto’s Daughter #1)

Click the picture to purchase the book on Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

I received an ARC of this book for free from the publisher for promotional purposes. 

I was so excited to read this because it is based on Filipino mythology. I’m Filipino and this is the first book I’ve seen that draws from Filipino mythology. It did not disappoint. 

The incorporation of Filipino mythology and culture were wonderfully done. There’s no denying the Filipino influence. There are even mentions of various Filipino foods (like pancit and empanadas) and Filipino clothes (like Barong Tagalog and Maria Clara dresses). I just loved seeing all the Filipino representation! I’m so glad Melissa de la Cruz decided to use her heritage as inspiration. 

I loved the supporting characters. MJ’s friend Nix was super cool and such a great friend to her. MJ’s love interest, Sir Lucas, was very dashing. It’s no surprise she fell for him. 

As for the story, I found it to be exciting and intriguing. There’s mystery, adventure, politics, magic, and of course some romance. I was never bored and I couldn’t wait to see how it all ended. It definitely kept me guessing until the end. 

Overall, I really enjoyed this one and am curious to see what’s to come in the sequel (this is the first in a duet). If you’re a fan of Melissa de la Cruz’s books, you’ll like this one! 


Connect with me!

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok


Leave a comment